Thursday, 12 January 2017

Unboxing [JP]: Susumu Hirasawa - Ash Crow (CD)

I acquired a couple CDs from Japan and I figured I'll add them to my blog. The first one is from composer Susumu Hirasawa with his latest album, focused solely on a compilation of new and old songs from the Berserk franchise.

Susumu Hirasawa (平沢 進) is a Japanese composer and music artist who's been working in the music business since the late 1980s. His music genre is a mix of electronic and experimental but he's been involved on many soundtracks, including anime from director Satoshi Kon with the likes of Millennium Actress, Paprika, and Paranoia Agent. But he's also very notable for handling the music to the Berserk franchise, including the 1997 anime, the two video games released on Dreamcast and PlayStation 2, and adding some assistance for the Golden Age movie trilogy and the recent 2016 CG anime adaptations.

This album Ash Crow is the latest work from the composer. It's more or less a compilation of all of the best songs he has worked on combined with new remixes of classic hits and brand new tracks from the 2016 Berserk anime series. This CD is self-explanatory but it's still worth picking up for every Berserk fan out there.

The track-list includes the following:
01 - "Ashes" (灰よ Hai yo) - Berserk, 2016
02 - "BERSERK-Forces 2016" - Sword-Wind Chronicle (Berserk 1997), 1997
03 - "Aria" - Golden Age Arc, 2012
04 - "FORCES II" - Chapter of the Flowers of Oblivion (Sword of the Berserk: Guts' Rage), 1999
05 - "ZODDO II" - Chapter of the Flowers of Oblivion (Sword of the Berserk: Guts' Rage), 1999
06 - "Horde of Thistledown" (冠毛種子の大群 Kanmō Shushi no Taigun) (Large Chamber ver.) - The Secret of The Flowers of Phenomenon, 2012
07 - "INDRA 2016" - Chapter of the Flowers of Oblivion (Sword of the Berserk: Guts' Rage), 1999
08 - "Ash Crow" - Berserk, 2016
09 - "Sign" - Chapter of the Holy Demon War, 2004
10 - "Sign-3" - Chapter of the Holy Demon War, 2004
11 - "Aria" (Karaoke) - Golden Age Arc, 2012
12 - "Ashes" (灰よ Hai yo) (Karaoke) - Berserk, 2016
13 - "Ash Crow" (Karaoke) - Berserk, 2016

This album is only available via physical disc as far as I'm aware, but there's enough stock around.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.

About this blog

My photo
Member of the Anime UK News forum, and also once part of the Sheffield Hallam Visual Arts society throughout 2013-2017. Been collecting anime since 2012 and supported the anime distributors ever since. Also been hanging around on the Blu-ray forum and Fandom Post forums.

Blog Archive